November 15-16, 2018 
Newfoundland & Labrador, Canada

MASS17 Presentations

Click on the presentation number to download a PDF verison of the presentation.

Day 1


Tuesday, October 31

  0730 Registration Open​
  0845 MASS17 Opening Remarks: Richard Billard,  Chief Executive Officer,  ‎Atlantic Canada Aerospace and Defence Industry Association (ACADA) 
  0900 Welcome Address from the Government of Newfoundland - Labrador: The Honourable Dwight Ball, Premier, Newfoundland and Labrador 
  0915 BGen Mike Nixon, Commander, Joint Task Force - North 
P1 0945 Maria Halfyard, Manager, Applied Research and Industrial Projects, Centre for Marine Simulation (CMS), Marine Institute
  1015 Coffee & Networking Break   Exhibit Area
P2 1045 Fred Constantine, Vice President and General Counsel, Woodward Group of Companies
P3 1115 Dr. Wei Qiu,  Department Head, Ocean and Naval Architectural Engineering, Memorial University
P4 1145 Rear Admiral Nils Wang, Commandant, Royal Danish Defence College
  1215 Lunch     Exhibit Area
  1315 Lieutenant-General Michael J. Hood, Commander, Royal Canadian Air Force
  1345 John Schmidt, VP Commercial, Federal Fleet
  1415 Coffee & Networking Break   Exhibit Area
  1445 JJ Gerber, Operations Services Manager, Cougar Helicopters Inc.
  1515 Mark MacLeod, President & Chief Executive Officer, C-Core
P5 1545 Dale Reding, Director, General Science and Technology, Air Force and Navy, Department of National Defence, Canada
  1615 David Finn, Chief Operating Officer, Petroleum Research Newfoundland and Labrador
  1645 Day 1 Wrap-Up: Jim House, ACADA Provincial Director, NL
  1700-1900 Networking Reception: Exhibit Area

Day 2


Wednesday, November 1

  0800 Registration Open/Continental Breakfast
  0830 Michael Emerson, Director of Marine Transportation Systems and Senior Arctic Advisor, United States Coast Guard
  0900 Dr. David Murrin, Director General, Ocean, Coastal, and River Engineering Research Centre, National Research Council
P6 0930 Katherine Wilson, Chief of Strategic Policy and Planning, Canadian Ice Service, Meteorological Service of Canada, Environment and Climate Change
P7 1000 Trevor Bell, University Research Professor, Memorial University of Newfoundland
  1030 Coffee & Networking Break   Exhibit Area
  1100 RAdm Craig A. Baines, Commander Maritime Forces Atlantic/Joint Task Force Atlantic, Royal Canadian Navy
  1130 Derek Scott, Vice President, Program Development , PAL Aerospace
  1200 Lunch    Exhibit Area
  1315 Andy Smith, Deputy Commissioner, Strategy and Shipbuilding, Canadian Coast Guard
  1345 Major General (Ret.) Randy Kee, Executive Director, Arctic Domain Awareness Center, University of Alaska
  1415 Coffee & Networking Break    Exhibit Area
  1445 Ed Zebedee, Director of Emergency Services, Government of Nunavut
  1515 Lieutenant-Commander Suzanne Appleton, Environmental Officer, Royal Canadian Navy
  1545 Conference Wrap-up and Close: Jim House, ACADA Provincial Director, NL


Gold Sponsors






Silver Sponsors  



Bronze Sponsor



Breakfast Sponsor


Break Sponsors




Conference Bag Sponsor

Media Sponsor